Book Review: ‘let’s Pretend This Never Happened (a Mostly True Memoir)’ By Jenny Lawson

It seems that every so often, a memoir shoots up the charts, only to have its journalistic integrity questioned months later as the pendulum swings from adoration to suspicion. From James Frey cowering on Oprah’s couch to “This American Life” debating a warning label for David Sedaris’s essays, the universal truth in nonfiction memoirs is that the accuracy of events will, at some point, be questioned.

RELATED ARTICLES
  • Read all about it: The Amanda Knox booklistRead all about it: The Amanda Knox booklist
    The Amanda Knox story has spawned books that declare her guilt and proclaim her innocence. More
  • Books of The Times: Amanda Knox’s Memoir, ‘Waiting to Be Heard’Books of The Times: Amanda Knox’s Memoir, ‘Waiting to Be Heard’
    “She’s a complete blank,” the playwright John Guare once said, trying to explain the public fascination with Amanda Knox, the American student accused (along with two men) of murdering her housemate Meredith Kercher during a sex escapade gone awry in Italy. More
  • Memoir of Amanda Knox to Be ReleasedMemoir of Amanda Knox to Be Released
    While imprisoned in Italy for four years over the murder of her roommate, Amanda Knox fended off sexual harassment from guards and an overture from a cellmate. On the night of the killing, she was smoking marijuana and watching a movie with her Italian boyfriend. More
  • Book Buzz: Adele turns down book deal
    Is Grammy and Oscar winning singer Adele writing a memoir? No! The New York Daily News reports that the British crooner turned down a seven-figure deal with HarperCollins, saying she is too young to detail her life experiences in a book. More
  • ArtsBeat: David Axelrod Writing a MemoirArtsBeat: David Axelrod Writing a Memoir
    David Axelrod, the political strategist behind the rise of President Obama, has signed with Penguin Press to write a memoir, the publisher said Tuesday morning. Release is slated for fall 2014. More
BING NEWS:
  • You may be offended by this book, but only when you're not laughing out loud
    This online article is a review of a book which was written ... circus creates chapters that are a true source of entertainment. ‘Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)’ has no real plot line, beginning or ending.
    05/30/2013 - 11:08 am | View Link
  • November 2012 Book Challenge
    The Dark Tower, Book VII: The Dark Tower by Stephen King, read by George Guidall 33. Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson, read by Jenny Lawson 34. All the King's Men by Robert Penn Warren, read by Michael Emerson 35.
    11/9/2012 - 11:00 am | View Link
  • The Open Book: Why banning books fails us
    Mother, blogger, and author (“Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir”) Jenny Lawson makes a different point: challenging books draws attention to them, and often causes more people to discover and read them than would have otherwise.
    10/14/2012 - 1:01 pm | View Link
  • Book review: ‘Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)’ by Jenny Lawson
    It seems that every so often, a memoir shoots up the charts, only to have its journalistic integrity questioned months later as the pendulum swings from adoration to suspicion. From James Frey cowering on Oprah’s couch to “This American Life ...
    05/31/2012 - 1:00 pm | View Link
  • Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)
    PW has integrated its print and digital subscriptions, offering exciting new benefits to subscribers, who are now entitled to both the print edition and the digital editions of PW (online or via our app). For instructions on how to set up your accout for ...
    05/27/2012 - 1:00 pm | View Link
  • More
BING SEARCH:
  • Book Reviews & More by Kathy
    Title: Electric Candle by Elizabeth Noble Sequel to Shades of Sepia The Sleepless City: Book Two Publisher: Dreamspinner Press Genre: Paranormal, Erotic, Romance ...
    04/23/2014 - 9:00 am | View Website
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir ...
    Currently Viewing... Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) (eBook) Pub. Date: 4/17/2012 Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
    04/23/2014 - 1:58 am | View Website
  • Book Reviews Archive
    Here's an alphabetical listing of all our Book Reviews: "Look Me in the Eye" by John Elder Robison A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M. Miller, Jr.
    04/22/2014 - 11:34 pm | View Website
  • Summary and book reviews of I Know This Much Is True by ...
    Summary and book reviews of I Know This Much Is True by Wally Lamb
    04/22/2014 - 10:44 pm | View Website
  • Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir ...
    Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir) [Jenny Lawson] on Amazon.com. *FREE* shipping on qualifying offers. For fans of Tina Fey and David ...
    04/22/2014 - 10:23 pm | View Website
  • More

Comment On This Story

Welcome to Wopular!

Welcome to Wopular

Wopular is an online newspaper rack, giving you a summary view of the top headlines from the top news sites.

Senh Duong (Founder)
Wopular, MWB, RottenTomatoes

Subscribe to Wopular's RSS Fan Wopular on Facebook Follow Wopular on Twitter Follow Wopular on Google Plus

MoviesWithButter : Our Sister Site

More Books News