Literary Award | featured news

ArtsBeat: Young Poet Wins Old Prize

Eryn Green, a doctoral candidate at the University of Denver, has joined Adrienne Rich, John Ashbery, W.S. Merwin and Jack Gilbert on the illustrious list of winners of the Yale Series of Younger Poets prize, the nation’s oldest annual literary award.


Story Prize goes to Claire Vaye Watkins

Claire Vaye Watkins

Author Claire Vaye Watkins was awarded the Story Prize in New York on Wednesday evening for her debut collection, "Battleborn." As winner she receives $20,000. Two finalists for the prize -- Dan Chaon for "Stay Awake" and Junot Diaz for "This Is How You Lose Her" -- will receive $5,000 each. The Story Prize is the most significant award in the U.S. dedicated to collections of short fiction.


Teacher scoops French book prize

A biology teacher wins France's top literary prize with his debut novel about the country's colonial wars.


Hare wins Pinter literary prize

Oscar-nominated playwright and screenwriter Sir David Hare wins the Pen/Pinter Prize for his "unflinching, unswerving" gaze upon the world.


Subscribe to this RSS topic: Syndicate content