3 Women Accept Nobel Peace Prize

2011 Nobel Peace Prize

Three women who fought injustice, dictatorship and sexual violence in Liberia and Yemen have received the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize at a ceremony in the Norwegian capital.

Sections:  news   world   
  • S&P cuts Egypt's credit ratings
    Ratings agency Standard & Poor's has pushed Egypt's sovereign credit ratings deeper into junk status, citing "continued pressure" on foreign reserves. More
  • Ghana impounds 'faulty condoms'
    More than 110 million Chinese-made condoms are seized in Ghana after laboratory tests revealed they had holes and burst easily. More
  • Nigeria tycoon 'plans $8bn refinery'
    Africa's wealthiest man, Aliko Dangote, says he aims to invest up to $8bn in a major new oil refinery that would double Nigeria's current oil output. More
  • Mubarak ordered back to prison
    Former Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak has been ordered back to prison from military hospital. Mr Mubarak's retrial will open on 11 May, a Cairo appeals court says. More
  • African growth 'to outpace world'
    Sub-Saharan Africa's economic growth is set to outpace the global average over the next three years, according to the World Bank. Higher commodities, increasing investment and a general pick-up in the world economy should all boost the continent's growth to more than 5%. More
  • Pratt: The Nobel Prize – Women aren't getting the credit they deserve
    When this year’s Nobel prize-winners ... The 2017 Peace Prize is being awarded to the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons. A Hiroshima survivor, Setsuko Thurlow (who is now a Canadian), will accept the prize on behalf of the campaign ...
    12/7/2017 - 11:37 am | View Link
  • Inversions, Opposites or Equality: From the Nobel Peace Prize to the Women’s March
    A few folks will likely not accept this pointed finger ... A mere eight and a half months into his administration, the Nobel Committee on Oct. 9, 2009, announced its award of the Nobel Peace Prize to President Barack Hussein Obama.
    02/5/2017 - 6:00 pm | View Link
  • 3 women accept Nobel Peace Prize
    OSLO, Norway (AP)— Three women who fought injustice, dictatorship and sexual violence in Liberia and Yemen accepted the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize Dec. 10, calling on repressed women worldwide to rise up against male supremacy. “My sisters, my daughters ...
    12/14/2011 - 7:22 am | View Link
  • Three Women’s Rights Leaders Accept Nobel Peace Prize
    Paris - In a ceremony in Oslo that repeatedly invoked gender equality and the democratic strivings of the Arab Spring, the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize was presented to three female activists and political leaders on Saturday for “their nonviolent struggle for ...
    12/10/2011 - 11:00 am | View Link
  • Three women activists receive Nobel Peace Prize
    Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Liberian activist Leymah Gbowee and Yemeni activist Tawakkol Karman received the Nobel Peace Prize in Oslo on Saturday ... and letter because of her refusal to accept the Ministry of Information rejection of ...
    12/10/2011 - 10:33 am | View Link
  • More
  • Atomic bomb survivor to jointly accept Nobel Peace Prize ...
    Atomic bomb survivor to jointly accept Nobel Peace Prize on ICAN’s behalf. October 26, 2017. An 85-year-old survivor of the 1945 atomic bombing of Hiroshima will jointly accept this year’s Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN).
    04/22/2018 - 4:53 pm | View Website
  • List of Nobel Peace Prize laureates
    Laureates. As of 2016, the Peace Prize has been awarded to 104 individuals and 23 organizations.Sixteen women have won the Nobel Peace Prize, more than any other Nobel Prize.
    04/22/2018 - 3:13 pm | View Website
  • Nobel Peace Prize
    The Nobel Peace Prize (Swedish: Nobels fredspris) is one of the five Nobel Prizes created by the Swedish industrialist, inventor, and armaments manufacturer Alfred Nobel, along with the prizes in Chemistry, Physics, Physiology or Medicine, and Literature.
    04/21/2018 - 12:58 pm | View Website
  • Martin Luther King
    Nobel Prize Acceptance Speech. December 10, 1964 Oslo, Norway I accept the Nobel Prize for Peace at a moment when twenty-two million Negroes of the United States of America are engaged in a creative battle to end the long night of racial injustice.
    04/19/2018 - 4:00 pm | View Website
  • Jewish Nobel Prize Laureates
    Established by Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel in 1895, the Nobel Prize is a set of annual awards bestowed upon individuals in recognition of cultural and/or scientific advances in six categories - Literature, Chemistry, Economics, Physics, World Peace, and Medicine.
    04/18/2018 - 3:46 pm | View Website
  • More

Comment On This Story

Welcome to Wopular!

Welcome to Wopular

Wopular is an online newspaper rack, giving you a summary view of the top headlines from the top news sites.

Senh Duong (Founder)
Wopular, MWB, RottenTomatoes

Subscribe to Wopular's RSS Fan Wopular on Facebook Follow Wopular on Twitter Follow Wopular on Google Plus

MoviesWithButter : Our Sister Site

More World News